LibGuides: World Literature Resources: Article and Reference Sources

Helpful eReference Titles

Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd Edition by Fred Skolnik, editor-in-chief
ISBN: 0028659287
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature by Edited by Robert Thomas Lambdin and Laura Cooner Lambdin.
ISBN: 0313300542
Publication Date: 2000
Epics for Students by Sara Constantakis. Editor
ISBN: 0787616850
Publication Date: 2011
2nd Edition.
Shakespeare for Students, 2nd Edition by Anne Marie Hacht, Editor
ISBN: 9781414412559
Reading the Old Testament by Lawrence Boadt; Richard J. Clifford; Daniel J. Harrington
ISBN: 1616436700
Publication Date: 2012-09-01

Article and Reference Sources

The following links will take you to indexes for articles as well as background information in literature and related resources. You might want to start out with an online reference source first and then go into more detail with the online journals articles.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7 (some eBooks are part of the Traveler project).
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. These collections contain over journal tiles dating back to its inception through the last three to five years. Links to more current issues of a journal title are provided where available. Artstor images are included now as well.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 600,000 words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 3 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
One Literature includes everything in LION plus 150,000+ additional primary sources, 20,000 eBooks, and expanded resources on modern and diverse authors. This is a great resource for upper primary grades and college students doing any sort of literary criticism or report on an author or literary movement. This database is administered by the Traveler project with funds provided in part from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Theatre Performance and Design Collection This link opens in a new window
Theatre students and researchers can now truly see “behind the scenes” of the world’s greatest dramatic performances. Theatre Performance and Design Collection is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater from production and design to performance, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more

World Literature Resources: Article and Reference Sources

Helpful eReference Titles

Article and Reference Sources

Browse Language & Literature eJournals