LibGuides: Folklore Resources: Article and Reference Sources

Helpful eReference Titles

Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: a Handbook by Jane Garry; Hasan El-Shamy
ISBN: 0765612607
Publication Date: 2004-12-31
Brewer's Dictionary of Irish Phrase and Fable by Sean McMahon; Jo O'Donoghue; Sean Mcmahon
ISBN: 9781849725927
Publication Date: 2009-10-26
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions by Raphael Patai
ISBN: 9780765620255
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Encyclopedia of Spirits and Ghosts in World Mythology by Theresa Bane
ISBN: 9781476663555
Publication Date: 2016-03-24
A to Z World Superstitions and Folklore by Sibylla Putzi
ISBN: 9781607801191
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Article and Reference Sources

The following links will take you to indexes for articles as well as background information in literature and related resources. You might want to start out with an online reference source first and then go into more detail with the online journals articles.

JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. These collections contain over journal tiles dating back to its inception through the last three to five years. Links to more current issues of a journal title are provided where available. Artstor images are included now as well.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world. This database is administered by the Traveler project with funds provided in part from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 66,000 eBooks from many scholarly publishers. This database is administered by the Traveler project with funds provided in part from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
One Literature includes everything in LION plus 150,000+ additional primary sources, 20,000 eBooks, and expanded resources on modern and diverse authors. This is a great resource for upper primary grades and college students doing any sort of literary criticism or report on an author or literary movement. This database is administered by the Traveler project with funds provided in part from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is now part of JSTOR. The old interface is being retired, but you can search JSTOR for the same content.