Arknasas History: Finding Books

New Arkansas Books

Getting Started

The Library Catalog and WorldCat are tools for finding books, journal titles, websites, DVDs and other material available from Abington Library and worldwide. Because the records in The Library Catalog and WorldCat are often brief they work best for searches by Author, Title and important subjects or keywords. 

There are various encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and indexes on Arkansas History and related topics.  Libraries of Congress subject divisions for these topics are CT for Biographies, E for U.S. History, and F for U.S. Local History. There may be books in other sections depending on the specific nature of the book. For example, books relating to Arkansas education would be in the subject division beginning with L. 

Books that have call numbers should be print books that are in the Arkansas State University-Beebe Libraries. Books listed as Arkansas Reference will be on the second floor in the Special Collections room near the elevator. Books listed as Arkansas Collection, will be in the general circulating collection on the 2nd floor. Note that there might be several copies of a book, one in the Special Collections room and one in the circulating collection. You should be able to find this out by searching our library catalog.

Library Catalog Search

Borrowing Books from other libraries

Use the following tools when the Arkansas State University-Beebe libraries don't own the books you need, or if you just want to see what other materials might be available on your topic at other libraries:

OCLC WorldCat - Search results will show which libraries have a particular item.

Interlibrary Loan Form - Fill out this form and email it to circ@asub.edu. Make sure to provide any important information, so we can find the item at another library.